Do you need Yoga?

What is yoga? Each person will answer this question in his own way: for some, this is the path of the surrounding being and self-knowledge, for another, it is a system of exercises that helps to stop in the frantic rhythm of life. Today, speaking about yoga, most often means hatha yoga, which focuses on physical exercise. In all sections and circles, this direction is mainly practiced. Experienced teachers conduct orientation classes, help to understand all the exciting issues. Each student opens in his own way such a direction as yoga – becoming better with a new asana both spiritually and physically.
If we touch on history, then philosophers and thinkers for many millennia developed this doctrine, revealed the relationship between breathing exercises, asanas, purity of thoughts with the way of human life. You can read about yoga in the famous treatises of Sri Aurobindo, Swami Vivekananda, Sri Raman Maharshi and other spiritual teachers. These scientific works have been translated into many languages ​​and have been reprinted more than once.
According to the original teachings of Patanjali, yoga is divided into eight stages:
1. Niyama – certain precepts of lifestyle.
2. Pit – restrictions in relations with people and nature.
3. Pranayama – breathing exercises that are associated with the replenishment of energy.
4. Asanas – special positions and postures of the body.
5. Pratyahara – control over the flow of perception of the world, mental relaxation.
6. Dhyana – regulated flow of consciousness, phased meditation.
7. Dharana – the development of concentration of thoughts.
8. Samadhi – an altered state of consciousness.
The steps listed are called the octal path. They make up the classic system. It is easy to notice that this system covers three layers – three directions of human development. The first is the moral, ethical realm of life, Nii and Yama. The second is physical development, the improvement of one’s own body – this is facilitated by Pranayama and Asana, and the third is the development of the psychic forces of man – Dharana, Samadhi, Pratyahara, Dhyana.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.